Recipe Sunday: Oatmeal Cinnamon Chip Cookies.

Today it rained – a lot. I’m not complaining. It gave me the chance to stay in, relax, and do my favorite thing: bake. Truthfully, I would have baked anyway, but there’s something extra comforting about baking on a cold, rainy day – maybe it’s the warmth of the oven…who knows. But it is, what is, and I bake, therefore I am.

Anyway, this Sunday’s dessert of choice was Oatmeal Cinnamon Chip Cookies. My recipe is based on  this one, but I modified and tweaked it over the years, and I feel it’s finally reached cookie enlightenment. The reason I chose these for this Recipe Sunday was two-fold: I was planning on sending a long-distance friend one of my creations, and it had to be something both that he liked, and could be shipped. He loves cookies, and cookies are easily shippable. And so it was written. Hopefully he likes them, and you do, too!!

delivered to your doorstep!!

Oatmeal Cinnamon Chip Cookies

What you’ll need:

1 cup minus 1 tbsp butter

1 cup dark brown sugar

1/3 cup sugar

2 eggs

1 1/2 tsp vanilla

1 1/2 cups flour

1 tsp baking soda

2 cups oats

1 1/2 cups Hershey’s Cinnamon Chips

What you’ll do:

Preheat oven to 350. Cream butter, brown sugar, and sugar together until fluffy and well-mixed. In a small separate bowl, whisk together the eggs and vanilla, and add to the butter/sugar, mixing well. In another bowl, whisk together the flour and baking soda, and add, mixing until everything is just combined – do not over mix! Fold in the oats, then fold in the cinnamon chips. Spoon into heaping spoonfuls (or use something like this – it really makes it so much easier and they turn out looking much cleaner) onto a cookie sheet covered with parchment paper. I fit about 15 on a sheet. Bake for 8-9 minutes, until the edges are golden-brown. Makes about 4 dozen.

2 thoughts on “Recipe Sunday: Oatmeal Cinnamon Chip Cookies.

Leave a Reply

