Recipe Sunday: Challah Bread.

I have a bit of an addiction to bread. I cannot be in the same room with bread for too long, without eventually breaking a piece off and scarfing it down. And once I have once piece, it’s all over. So I’ve learned to avoid getting too close to bread. But that doesn’t change how I feel about it. Although I do love all breads, I do have a fondness for certain varieties, one in particular, being Challah Bread.

I absolutely adore Challah, with its golden crust, and chewy, rich, doughy insides. And it also scores highly in the appearance department – I mean, who doesn’t love a bread in braids!! Anyway, I was taught a really fantastic recipe for Challah while in pastry school, and tonight, I just felt like sharing it.

makes you wanna holla’.

Challah Bread (3 braid).

What you’ll need:

8 oz  water (warm)

.33 oz dry yeast

1 lb 4 oz  bread flour

4 oz  egg yolks

1.5 oz  sugar

.13 oz  malt syrup

.4 oz  salt

2 oz  vegetable oil

What you’ll do:

In a small bowl, mix together the water and yeast, and let sit until the yeast is dissolved (about 10 minutes). Mix everything else in a large mixing bowl. With the dough hook attachment. mix for about 1 minute on low speed, and add the water/yeast. Mix for 10 minutes at medium speed – the dough should form a ball. Cover with plastic wrap, and let ferment for 1 hour. Portion dough into two equal sized pieces and divide each of the 2 pieces into 3 pieces. Roll each of the three pieces into strands of equal length and braid. You should have two braided loaves. Pinch the top and the bottom of each loaf, place on sheet tray, and egg wash the tops. Proof for 30 minutes, and gently egg wash again. Bake at 400 degrees until golden (about 30-40 minutes).

Leave a Reply

