Recipe Sunday: Cinnamon Sugar Soft Pretzels.

Welcome to this week’s edition of Recipe Sunday! Tonight’s feature is a based off of a recipe I learned while in pastry school. One of the classes I took was all about breads – every Saturday, we baked nothing but breads for 8 hours. I LOVED it. It’s still my favorite class. I’m a total bread head.

Anyway, one day last week, my friend and I were discussing the soft pretzel, and I had decided to make it my mission to create the perfect nice warm soft pretzel (NWSP, as we code-named it). So tonight, I embarked on that mission. It was by no means a Mission Impossible, as I had made pretzels once before, while in school; but had yet to attempt it on my own, and with my own modifications. The mission was a success – NWSP has been achieved! I admit, my pretzels may be a little on the chubby side, but I like to call them “real pretzels” – not like those models you see on TV. And real people eat real pretzels.

bring it on, Auntie Anne.

 Cinnamon Sugar Soft Pretzels.

What you’ll need:

10.5 oz  warm water (110° F)

.25 oz dry yeast

1 lb all-purpose flour

1 tsp salt

.33 oz sugar

For Soda Wash:

2 oz baking soda

1 pint warm water

For topping:

1/4 cup melted butter

1/2 cup sugar

cinnamon, to taste

What you’ll do:

In a small bowl, mix the yeast and warm water, and let it sit until the yeast is dissolved. In a mixing bowl, whisk together the flour, salt and sugar. With the dough hook attachment, mix on low speed for 10 minutes, stopping after 2 minutes to scrape the bottom. Dough should ball up and pull away from the sides. When done, flour a sheet tray, place the dough on top, flour the top of the dough, and cover with plastic wrap (if you don’t flour the tray and the dough, you’ll never get it off). Let it ferment for at least an hour (my house was cold today, so I let it go for 2 hours). Preheat the oven to 500°. Prepare a second sheet tray with parchment paper, sprayed generously with cooking spray. Cut the dough into 5 oz. pieces (will make about 5 pretzels).  Roll each one thin, and shape into a pretzel (or whatever shape you like, really).  Place on the sprayed sheet pan. Coat each completely with the baking soda/warm water wash. Bake for 12-15 minutes; until golden brown. Let cool for 2 minutes, brush with melted butter, and sprinkle cinnamon sugar on top. Eat warm, like I did. 🙂

3 thoughts on “Recipe Sunday: Cinnamon Sugar Soft Pretzels.

  1. This will be interesting. I’ve already made good use of my unit converter app on my iphone since I don’t have a kitchen scale. And I don’t have a stand mixer. But I am determined to make this to be a Featured Fan!

    • I have faith in you! And you can always mix the dough by hand. That’s what they did before there were mixers. In school, our teacher said: the dough hook = your hands, the paddle = your spatula, and the whip = your whisk. You can do it!! 🙂

  2. Pingback: Featured Fan Favorite: Cinnamon Sugar Soft Pretzels. « Small Indulgences

Leave a Reply

