play ball!

I like baseball. I always have. More than other professional sports. If someone asked me what my all time favorite sports team is, it would be a baseball team, and it would be the Phillies. And not because they have been so good this year and in recent years. I’ve loved the Phillies since I was a little girl and my dad took me to my very first game. I loved Mike Schmidt growing up, and I even met him as an adult (he was extremely friendly and posed for a photo with me). But that’s not really the “ball” I was referring to. I’m talking about cake balls; chocolate oreo cake balls, to be specific.

home run.

This is what i do with extra cake – this is why I can’t ever throw any of it away; why I have a freezer full of cakes and cake parts (I want to be the girl with the most cake). Experimenting with cake balls. They’re easy, fun, and taste pretty darn great. I mean, how can they not? You take your cake, crumble it up in a bowl, mix in some icing, and roll into desired ball size. Do you know how much fun it is to stick you hands into a giant bowl of cake mixed with icing and play around with it? It’s like making dessert meatballs.

no strikes.

 

For these particular balls, I used leftover chocolate cake, chocolate icing, and then proceeded to coat each one with crumbled Oreos. The result: an out of the park home run, with bases loaded, in the bottom of the 9th,

So while you’re watching the Phillies as they make their way towards winning the World Series, have some cake balls. The more you eat, the better the Phillies play. (it’s worth a try, right?)

3 thoughts on “play ball!

  1. If it were true- I’d order about 10 dozen of them and sit on my couch like Rosie O’Donnell and not stop until the trophy is in their hands…..

Leave a Reply

