balls of (salted caramel) cake.

I love cake balls. I have no idea why no one thought of this sooner, or if they did, market it sooner. Not only is it a great way to recycle cake crumbs, but it’s also a great way to control your dessert eating habits. When a slice of cake or a cupcake is put in front of you, you’re gonna eat it.  The same goes for a cake ball, but it’s about 1/3 the size of a cupcake, if even that, and you have the choice of whether to reach for another, or slap yourself on the hand and cut yourself off after 1 (or even 2 – that’s still not even a whole cupcake).

Not to mention, cake balls are super easy to transport, and resist the heat of summer better than the average cupcake, since the icing is mixed in with the cake, rather than piled on top.

So, my decision to make cake balls to bring to an outdoor pool party this past weekend was an easy one. I had some salted caramel cake left over and a bit of the icing as well. So, that settled that. Everyone loves salted caramel, so I really couldn’t go wrong. However, I wanted to add a little something extra to the balls. I whipped up some caramel, and drizzled it across the top of each one, adding  that extra touch of fabulousness. 

have a ball.

Also unlike a cake or cupcakes, I took none home. All the balls were gone. I was kinda bummed about that. I guess I’ll just have to make more and keep them all to myself, completely defeating the purpose of the cake ball to begin with.

By the way, a few of the party guests commented that these tasted like pancakes (and that’s a wonderful thing).

Leave a Reply

