i bake for no one.

Sometimes, I just HAVE to bake something, with no real plan for the finished product or where it might end up. When the urge hits me, I have to act on it – I’ve tried to ignore it in the past, but it doesn’t do any good. It just grows and itches like a bug bite on the one spot of your back you can’t reach. Like drinking alone, baking for no one is the sign of a true addict.

i'm the Johnny Cash of the baking world.

Interestingly enough, I feel that some of my best work has come out of these baking for no one binges. Yesterday, as you may have read, I baked a Blueberry Buckle for the first time. This cake had no predetermined use – however it found a lovely home in the bellies of many happy co-workers and had completely vanished by day’s end.

chase away those blues.

Another impressive result of event-less baking was Eggnog Pie.  I found a recipe, really wanted to try it, and figured I’d find a good home for the pie, and sure enough, half went to an actual event that popped up, and the other half…work again. My co-workers love me (or is it “hate” me -there’s a fine line between the two).

free to a good home.

Third and foremost, may very well be the best thing I ever baked. That’s a bold statement, I know, but it’s almost a year later, and I’m still constantly getting requests for these handsome delectable little devils.  It was on a whim that I threw these together. I wanted to make a coffee cake with a new recipe I found, and really just didn’t feel like making a giant cake and having it sit around. Plus, I wanted something with icing. So, I turned it into Coffee Cake Cupcakes, and put a layer of cream cheese icing between the cake the streusel topping. If my memory serves me, these too wound up in the mouths of co-workers. What can I say – they make the best guinea pigs for new stuff.

extreme coffee cake makeover.

And now, I must quickly end this post, as I just squashed a bug that was crawling on my shirt, and I can’t sit here any longer because I keep thinking they’re all over me now. Dang bugs.

One thought on “i bake for no one.

  1. Pingback: super bon bon. « Small Indulgences

Leave a Reply

