strawberry cakes forever.

 

Today I was in Wegmans (my favorite supermarket in the universe), and they had the most luscious and fresh strawberries I’ve seen in quite some time. Last time I bought strawberries, it was mid-winter and they were…. a disappointment, to say the least – shriveled, moldy, and bitter, like that crotchety old coot who lived next door to your parents and gave you the hairy eyeball every time your ball went into his yard.  

darn kids and their rock and roll music!

Anyway, these strawberries I purchased today were the exact opposite of that: supple, juicy, delovely and delicious. I couldn’t ask for another.

groove is in the heart...or berry.

Those are the actual strawberries I purchased, too – this ain’t no stock photography. As you can see, I was not exaggerating. 

There is, however, one small problem – or large problem: the container was giant and there was no smaller option. I am only one person, and a rather small one at that. So this begs the question – what does one rather small person do with so many strawberries?!

The answer is easy, if you take it logically, my friends. Bake stuff with them. So I went through my top secret baking photo arsenal (aka – thumb drive), and searched through some of my previously made desserts that included strawberries. So here’s what I’ve come up with:

1. Strawberry Vanilla Cupcakes

berrylicious.

The icing is a strawberry buttercream, the cake a light vanilla sponge. That still leaves a bunch of berries though for….

2.  Cheesecake with fruit topping.

everything's better with cheese.

You can’t go wrong with a cheesecake topped with fresh fruit. Even after this however, there will still be some berries leftover, which leads me to one final berry sweet project:

3. Classic Strawberry Shortcake.

berry bliss.

The cake is again vanilla sponge, the icing is whipped cream, and there’s many, many more berries on the inside.

So, it looks like I’ve got my work cut out for me. Sigh…it’s getting hard to be someone….but it all works out. 🙂

Leave a Reply

