the graduate.

I always loved that movie. Perhaps in part because I always envisioned myself at 50 as a Mrs. Robinson-type, still wearing fishnets, and hitting (successfully) on boys half my age.  Being that a boy half my age at this point would really still be a boy, I have to focus on other things for the time being – like baking cakes for real-life graduates.

would you like me to seduce you? is that what you're trying to tell me?

This past weekend, I baked a lovely graduation cake for a lovely graduate (I’m assuming she was lovely – I never actually met her, but at the graduation party in my mind, she is as lovely as the cake at which she squealed delightfully over when graced with its presence). 

Anyway….here’ the cake:

would you like me to seduce you - i mean, happy graduation!

In addition to the cake, I also made a variety of cupcakes, including vanilla sugar cookie, chocolate cookies and cream, and salted caramel:

put it in your pantry with your cupcakes.

Along with getting to make some fun flavors, it gave me an opportunity to show off my script piping skills, which, a year ago were kinda embarrassing, particularly for someone who claimed to be a cake decorator. However, you know what they say, “How do you get to Carnegie Hall? Practice, practice, practice.”  Swap out Carnegie Hall with Charm City Cakes, and this old adage takes on a whole new life — like Mrs. Robinson.

what a drag it is getting old.

Leave a Reply

