a year in baking: the rises and falls.

So, its my last week of school for the spring session, and I realized that this marks my first official year of professional baking. I really can’t believe it’s been a year already. I remember back to last July, my first day of my first class, and what a nervous wreck I was – what do I do when I get there? Will I make friends? What if I don’t know what I’m doing? As I think back on these very normal first-day-of-school fears, I chuckle to myself that I could have ever possibly questioned any of those things. Not only have I met a ton of great people and made some great new friends, I know what I’m doing, and I do it  well, thank you.  

my very first school project.

I will say this, even though it’s been said thousands and thousands of times – I don’t know where the time went. It seems like just yesterday, no kidding. At the same time, so much has changed since then, that it seems like it could not have possibly been only a year ago. Time is relative, as they say.

Time, as in "Morris Day and the,"

so, as I reflect over what I’ve accomplished this past year, I have to say, I’m damn proud of myself. I went back to school and was a great student. I worked my full time job, and even worked a part time job on Sundays now and then. I had a social life, to boot. Sure, there were tough times –  some of the toughest in my life, for sure.  The truth is, you really can accomplish whatever you decide to. You just have to have the cahonies to step up and decide. And whatever hits you along the way, can only make you stronger (if it doesn’t kill you, that is.)

a year later - i'd say i've learned a little something.

In closing, I just want to say that I’m not posting this to brag about myself, although there’s nothing wrong with being proud of what you’ve done and especially what you’ve learned. I’m posting this as a reminder to everyone who reads it that nothing is impossible. Nothing can keep you down – if you believe in yourself. And no matter what happens along the way, YOU WILL SURVIVE – and be better for having experienced it.

2 thoughts on “a year in baking: the rises and falls.

  1. Congratulations! You should be proud of youself; we are all very proud of you. You have accomplished a lot in a year!

  2. Kudos! Jen – it goes without saying how proud we are (dad and I) – you’ve really weathered the storm! – love you!!!!

Leave a Reply

