i often dream of butter.

Ok, so that’s not really true – I don’t know if I ever actually dreamt of butter (and I do dream quite a bit). But I daydream about butter often, because I have an unhealthy obsession with it and all its fatty, slimy, melty glory.  Shamefully, I have been known to stick my finger right into a stick of butter and proceed to lick that very same finger in one fail swoop. My name is Jeanine, and I’m a butter-holic.

melts in your mouth and in your hands. sigh…

Anyway, tonight I was thinking about butter and blogging, and how the two could become one. And by jove, I remembered these cupcakes I baked about a year ago that I went as far as naming “buttercakes” due to the obscene amount of luscious butter that went into these god-like creations.

Sadly, I did not create the recipe myself. The funny thing though, is that no one knows who did. It’s actually the oldest cupcake recipe known to man  (for realz). I was curious one day, so I started researching the history of cupcakes. I came across this wikipedia entry about that very topic ( http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cupcake). So I read away…

And it led me to discover that no one really knows how the cupcake was invented. But a theory is that it was created when cakes were first made with ingredients based on volume rather than weight (thus the “cup” cake). I liked this theory. I also liked that it mentioned the recipe used to make these first cupcakes, also known as 1234 Cakes.

1234 Cakes are made up of, appropriately, 4 ingredients, broken down as follows:

1 cup butter

2 cups sugar

3 cups flour

4 eggs

Ummm…really? Not only are these the easiest cakes in the world to make, they have 1 full cup of butter!!! So I did what any respectable baker would do – I baked them.

1-2-3-4, come on baby say you love me.

I topped them with a chocolate buttercream, and a random white chocolate wafer to add a little of my own flair. Easy as 1-2-3 (4).

Oh! I almost forgot to mention how the tasted. Smooth and dreamy, like butter (and poundcake).

One thought on “i often dream of butter.

  1. 1-2-3-4 cupcakes… would truly make my father, who has no known boundaries to things that apparently are made better with a topping of butter (we’re talking butter on top of cookies and pizza kind of obsession) a happy man. Have to share this recipe with my mom.

Leave a Reply

