heart-shaped box.

I was tasked to make a box, entirely out of chocolate, for a class I’m taking. We were given free rein on what it could look like, we just had to be able to construct it out of chocolate. I thought long and hard about my box, and what form it should take and came up with a couple of ideas, but nothing that really struck me. So, I let my hand be my guide, sat down with a piece of cardboard, and just started drawing.

The result? Why, a heart-shaped box, obviously.

Kurt Cobain would be proud.

It’s like I said before, when left to my own devices, my confectionery creations seem to spew forth from some alternate level of consciousness. In this case, out spewed a heart-shaped box, complete with broken heart lid.

this heart was made to be broken.

 

And on the inside….

a heart full of love (and chocolate).

 

My teacher really dug it (maybe he’s a closet Nirvana fan – he’s only got about 3 years on me, I think). He had only good things to say, particularly about my modeling chocolate flowers (see “flower power“). But he did ask if there was any significance to the broken heart lid. Sure there is – it’s easier to get inside a heart that’s broken. And inside is where the good stuff lies. 🙂

Leave a Reply

