married? yes, married!

A good friend of mine got married yesterday. A year and a half ago, she got engaged. At that time, she asked me if I would be a bridesmaid in her wedding. I said yes, with 100% assurance.  She went on to say that they were opting for wedding cupcakes in lieu of a cake. She then asked me if I would make the cupcakes. I said yes, and then threw up in my mind from fear. This was big. HUGE. Sure, I’d been baking for years on the side. I had no real professional training at that time. I was flattered and honored that she would ask me to take on such a huge and personal endeavor. I feigned confidence as we chatted periodically over the next few months about said cupcakes, discussing flavors, decorations, etc. I was mortified. It would be one thing to screw up a stranger’s wedding confection of choice, but a close friend? This is the biggest day of a girl’s life – the one we are trained to live for since the very second we as baby girls are thrust out into the world, screaming our heads off.  Anyway, the last thing I wanted to do was to have ugly cupcakes not only ruin my friendship, but also my just-starting-to-spread positive reputation as a dessert artiste.

But, as they often do, things began to change.

First, I started a formal education in the baking and pastry arts.

Then, I got a part-time job at a real life bakery.

Then, I was asked by another friend to make wedding cupcakes, with great success. (see them here)

In the last month leading up to the wedding, as my friend and I again discussed the cupcakes, I suddenly realized that I was no longer afraid. That I couldn’t even imagine feeling afraid of baking something anymore.

I’d made it.

And the cupcakes turned out great (so practically every guest at the wedding said, anyway, including – most importantly – the bride ). 😉

bring it on.

One thought on “married? yes, married!

  1. Pingback: Fashionable cupcakes. « Small Indulgences

Leave a Reply

