green is the new cupcake.

So I just had to make these green tea cupcakes again, for three reasons:

1. It was my friend’s birthday and I know he likes them.

2. I didn’t get to eat any the last time (at least any baked ones).

3.The vibrant green color naturally radiated by the cupcakes was eclipsed by the decorating – albeit undeniably gorgeous decorating – and the world really needs to be exposed to the true color of these bad boys.

So, I whipped up another batch (and enjoyed more batter than the recommended daily allowance again).

Here’s how they looked naked:

it's not easy being green.

A little matcha powder sure goes a long way. It turned my fingers and countertop green too. But look at that color! If the power ever went out, I could set up a cupcake trail as a guide and eat my way from room to room. 

And here’s the finished product:

cupcakes worth envying.

I used a plain buttercream frosting which complimented the matcha powder nicely, and accentuated the color of the cakes as well. I sprinkled them with a green dusting sugar and sent my little Frankensteins out into the world to do my bidding (insert evil laugh here).

Leave a Reply

