Fast food gets funny.

I know that typically I write about desserts, however I was tasked with writing a paper for my Nutrition class on eating a meal at a fast food joint. I haven’t had a full-on fast food meal in I’d say at least 5 years, if not more, so the paper was a bit of a challenge.  So what did I do? I made it funny.  And now, I’ll share this comic relief with you (since my instructor may not have quite the same jovial reaction). Enjoy.

There can be only one – kinda like The Highlander.

Eating Fast Food: A day’s worth of calories in one meal.

I rarely eat fast food these days, because of the complete lack of nutritional value and ridiculous amount of calories. However, if I were to visit McDonalds, it would most likely be for lunch, and a typical lunch order would go something like this:

“One large vanilla shake, a Big Mac, and a large order of fries (slathered in ketchup) to go, please.” 

Let’s start with the Big Mac. One sandwich has 540 calories, 260 of them which are from fat, and 29 grams of fat. That’s more calories that I usually eat for breakfast and lunch combined, and it’s only 1/3 of the meal! The worst part is that the Big Mac is not even the worst sandwich McDonald’s has to offer, fat and calorie wise – that would be the Angus Bacon and Cheese, at a whopping 790 calories and 39 grams of fat. Good thing I ordered the Big Mac.

Next up: the large order of fries. Don’t get me wrong, there is something about McDonald’s fries that make them extremely hard to resist (I think they spray them with some sort of deep-fried love potion-type scent).  Well, luckily, the fries contain less calories than the sandwich – only 40 less calories!!  A large order of McDonald’s fries comes complete with 500 calories, 220 of them from fat, and 25 grams of fat. The ketchup packet is only 15 calories, but seriously, who uses just one ketchup packet?! I’d say three packets is a safe bet here. 

Finally, the shake. I purposefully leave out the world “milk” because I’ll be darned if I can taste any milk in this thing. Does it taste bad? Not at all. But if you’re looking for some semblance of a dairy product, you’ve come to the wrong shake. On top of that, this drink/dessert puts the Big Mac and fries to shame. The large (21 oz) Triple Thick Vanilla Shake serves up 740 calories, 160 of them from fat, and 18 grams of fat. Ok, so it has less fat than the other two. I still wouldn’t drink it if I was lost in the desert and it was the only drink available. I feel fatter just looking at one of these.

When all is said and done, this one little lunch contains 1780 calories (1825 if you include the ketchup packets), 640 calories from fat, and 82 grams of fat. Based on a 2000 calorie diet (which is already 800 more calories than I eat in an average day), the DRV for fat is 65 grams. With this one meal, one would beat that by 17 grams. But, when it comes to fat and calories –  just like a round of golf – the lower the number, the better your game.

you can get with this, or you can get with that.

Leave a Reply

