RSS

the bird’s the word.

27 Jun

So last year I saw these bird cupcakes on Martha Stewart’s website, and I had to make them. Coincidentally, a friend, who also happens to be a self-proclaimed “bird nerd” was having a birthday around the same time. Perfect excuse for me to whip up my own version of these sweet tweets. 

give someone the bird.

The cake itself was just a regular white cake – I tend to keep the base simple if the decorations are elaborate. I iced them with a coconut buttercream, then topped them with coconut flakes colored with a few drops of brown food coloring to make nests. I piped the nests with varying amounts of baby blue birds, gave each a yellow beak, and some eyes, and we’ve achieved chirperfection (I just made up a new word!).

a bird in the hand is worth two in the mouth.

They were such a success, I got a request to make them for another party after that. So, if you like birds and cupcakes (only a real jerk doesn’t like birds and cupcakes) then you should order these for your next party too.

 

 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 27, 2011 in cupcakes, decorations

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 responses to “the bird’s the word.

  1. cheersdarln

    June 27, 2011 at 6:10 pm

    I’ve seen so many people making these lately and I still can’t get over how cute they are! I’m curious, did you use coconut milk or extract?

     
    • smallindulgences

      June 27, 2011 at 7:37 pm

      thanks! I used coconut extract – i prefer the extracts in icing – i think they make the flavor pop a little more. :)

       

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 197 other followers

