RSS

It’s peanut butter apple time.

27 Jan
Yesterday, I was eating apple slices and peanut butter for breakfast. I was reminded recently of how much I loved this combo when I saw a friend munching on this dynamic duo and offering me a slice. So I started incorporating the combo back into my regularly scheduled consumption. As I was enjoying said breakfast, I started wondering how it came to be – who thought to combine the two, both tasty in their own right, into one super snack? He/She must have been really smart. Because I’m also really smart, an idea came to me  just then – peanut butter apple cupcakes. woot!
 

the magic equation

Instead of running on the treadmill, or doing my homework, I decided that I must make this vision a reality, ASAP. I started with a peanut butter cake recipe which I’d used before and enjoyed. I peeled, cored, and chopped a granny smith apple (my fave), and folded 3/4 of the choppings into the batter. While they baked, I concocted a peanut butter buttercream icing on the spot with no recipe (I told you I was really smart). I felt it needed a little something extra (boy I really didn’t want to use that treadmill) so I used the remaining 1/4 apple choppings, added some cinnamon, and caramelized them.

it's a win-win-win.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 27, 2011 in cupcakes

 

Tags: , , , , ,

2 responses to “It’s peanut butter apple time.

  1. Mark Giffen

    January 27, 2011 at 8:27 pm

    Yea well you are pretty smart and this cupcake is way smart!

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 195 other followers

